Many Options to Explore

In my last post I wrote about how I would love to go back to school for my doctorate degree. This is a goal of mine but at this point there is another plan. Setting up a graduate assistant position and enrolling into a doctorate program in one week would only have been doable if it was meant to be. But the GA position was already filled, so therefore I knew my answer.

Instead I’ll be following my original plan. I’ll be starting my school position tomorrow and I have an interview at an organization that offers tutoring services. I applied for two part-time positions with a local boys and girls club, but after further research online, I found the original posting was dated August 9th. Most likely, they have already filled the positions. But it’s still worth a try, right?

On Craigslist, I found an advertisement for an afterschool 1-1 assistant in my area. I applied to this as well, but I have yet to hear from the parents. I also called a Marketing Research Firm that was offering $75 for participating in a focus group about voting. I’m now on the call-waiting list if someone they scheduled cancels and they’ll keep my name on file for additional surveys. And, I responded to an ad for help cleaning a restaurant in my area once a month.

As recommended by so many bloggers, I need to pursue all sorts of opportunities to make extra money (well legal anyways). I wish the money was going towards debt instead of life, but eventually the skills I’m gaining in finding side hustles will help me when I am in debt payoff mode. I also need to re-contact a company that is offering $5 for reviewing their website.

I have officially started my second blog as well! I’ve already written three posts! I can’t wait until I actually have my domain for this site and I can truly build it into a successful side business. For One Million Bones, I created a flyer and sent emails to more people in my network. I have many more emails to send and I need to start my follow-up phonecalls. Once I’m settled into my school position, I’ll be able to plan better when I am available to execute programs for this project. My goal is to set up a district-wide program at the small city near where I live and implement it district-wide at the school district where I’ll be working part-time.

I have faith that all of these opportunities and connections will lead me to where I am supposed to be. I am attracting the right opportunities and people into my life!

How many jobs do you have?

What unexpected side hustles have you done to make extra money?

8 thoughts on “Many Options to Explore

  1. Good luck with your goals and keep posting to get support from the PF community!

  2. Michelle says:

    Congrats on the second site! I have one main job that is my main income earner. Then I also do many things on the side. Staff write, blog, mystery shop, etc. I hope to branch this out even further!

  3. I personally do some tutoring and the occasional babysitting for spare cash. My boyfriend mows his friend’s yard for extra cash. I am a firm believer in keeping multiple streams of income open. You just never know what may happen.

    • Rachel says:

      I’ve been wanting to diversify my incomes for a while; now that I’m not workig retail and feeling badly about it, I can focus on all the other things I want to be doing!

  4. mycanuckbuck says:

    I must admit – I don’t have any side hustles at all – just trying to earn a little extra income from my blog. Good luck with things!

Leave a Reply

Teacher Girl Blogs

Surviving Life as a 20-Something Teacher and Living to Blog About It

Evernote as Portfolio

Helping to change the way we document, share and reflect upon learning

iHeartBudgets

Just because you make money, doesn't mean you know what to do with it.

Budget and the Beach

The touchy feely side of personal finance…and life.

Life in Transition

Navigating Personal Finances During Life Transitions

No More Harvard Debt

Follow one person's attempt to pay off $90k in student loans in ten months

Frugal City Girl

Living on little in London

bogofdebt

The mire of debt I'm in and THE PLAN

Cook with Jennifer

Good Food Simply

afistfulodollars

Dealing with my addiction to personal finance one day at a time.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

